W.I.P. or works in progress!

Standard

I usually think of wip’s in the terms of knitting even though I have seen most creative people use the phrase for their various creative efforts. Usually its used in the context of  “How many wip’s do you have going?” or ” I have 12 wip’s in my basket”. My answer is always ONE.

I’m just not the type of person who can concentrate on more than one thing at a time! I do admit to stopping work on a big, boring project for several months and completing a myriad of smaller things in that time, but I rarely actually work on more than one thing at a time. Too confusing. It took me 2 years to finish a white, boring cardigan…and it doesn’t look or fit properly. But I got a lot of doll clothes, scarves and hats finished in between….one at a time, of course. The only time you might find 2 projects on the go is if I have to go somewhere that I know entails a long wait, and my main project is too big to cart along, or if I’m going over to the knitting group and again, the main project is just too big to drag over there.  Right now, my big project is basically finished, only needs blocking and buttons. (that could take awhile!) So, I’m happily working on my Christmas fair ideas, all small projects. I have another medium sized gift project for my sister, but have decided it can wait till the beginning of November, October is concentrated on my small stuff.

So, in my little mind, I have many wip’s, but in real life, its still one at a time. Actually, I am quite good at remembering patterns. Even the most complex Aran designs come naturally to me..I only need to do the lot once or twice and I’ve got it. I have an Aran project for myself after Christmas, when I can concentrate on it wholeheartedly!

Of course, now that I am in the throes of making ornaments and saleable small items, I realize I should have been doing this all year round! Luckily, I’m starting at a small Christmas Fair, so don’t need too much, but if it is mildly successful, I need to keep this in mind for next year! I used to do craft fairs a lot when I was younger, so I do have an idea what it entails, but I’m in a different country and a different time, so not sure how it will go!

So, how many wip’s do you have!?

Leave a Reply

