It’s a Lifestyle Choice!

Standard

About a month ago, I made a very important decision. Its been a long time coming, and took a lot of work, but I decided to radically alter the way I look at and eat food.

The word diet is misused a lot. Mostly its just the food we eat. If we are vegetarians, we are on a vegetarian diet, or a vegan diet, etc. Diet actually has little to do with weight loss, but somehow the word is associated with deprivation and misery.

I have found that to be false, there is no deprivation or misery for me, I have changed how and what I eat and I feel fine, thank you very much! And it has the added bonus that I just happen to be losing weight and keeping my blood sugar just where it should be. (I am diagnosed as a type 2 diabetic)

So, what has caused me to make this radical change and just what is this radical change? As the meerkat on the adverts says, ” Simples”. I watched some television programs and read some books. And I guess the time was right for me to hear the message…because I’ve heard this message before, I had the information, but now I had the extra oomph of being angry!

I was already reading the book, The Blood Sugar Solution by Dr. Mark Hyman. There was a Horizon special about exercise on telly, which was quite informative, but the one that really did it was the BBC shows called The Men Who Made Us Fat. And what I learned from them really pissed me off and I determined that Big Food and Big Diet corporations were not going to make more money from me. I am using the plan in the New Atkins for a New You book, I have gone lo carb and eat only real food. I do indulge in Atkins snack and meal replacement bars on occasion, but intend to give that up as I add new foods to my regimen.

I eat no processed food, and even though I could have them, I’ve given up diet soda. I drink water. I make unsweetened ice tea with a regular tea bag and a fruity tea bag, its delicious. I drink sparkling water with a slice of lemon or lime in it for a real treat.  In all I drink over 2 litres a day. I used to drink that in soda…sugary soda. I gave that up when I was told I was diabetic and then started drinking diet soda, I did buy the store brand stuff made with sucralose, it tasted better! Not really sure if it is better, chemically.

I’ve done the 2 week induction phase and lost 14lbs- and 3 inches off my waist. I’m now in the ongoing program where you gradually add other foods and this week I get to eat nuts! Next week is berries. I’ve collected recipes for lo carb baking using coconut flour and /or ground almonds.  I have bacon and eggs for breakfast, big salad with whatever protein I fancy on it, for lunch and protein and a cooked veg for dinner. I can have two snacks a day, cheese, nuts, berries etc. I have been at an outdoor event and resisted the ice cream vendor. We get kebabs delivered on Sat. evenings for dinner and I have tossed out the pita and just ate the grilled chicken breast and the salad bits.

Now even though I’m using the Atkins plan and have read Dr. Hyman’s book, I haven’t bought into their corporations either. They both have websites where you can get recipes and they have chats and both sell expensive supplements etc. I buy my supplements from our health food store. Its Cheaper!

I have a friend on facebook who has eaten this way for 3 years and she has been a big help. She has a page called My Low Carb Lifestyle.  There is a blog by a woman named Zoe Harcombe which is very informative. You can google lo carb recipes and get loads of stuff, all for free!  I am building up quite a pile of recipes! (faster than I can make them!)

I eat no flour/wheat products. I do remember when I gave them up once before that my sinuses cleared up and I am experiencing that again. One author felt it was better to refer to insulin resistance as carbohydrate intolerance and I like that, its certainly how it works for me. I had noticed if I had just toast in the morning, any kind of toast, granary, white etc. , that I had a high blood sugar reading. But, if I ate protein with my toast, even if it was just spreading peanut butter on it, then my reading was normal.

The carbohydrate issue is one that the Diabetes UK does not address, neither does the NHS. And this all has to do with the Big Food corporations, they don’t want us to know that they are literally killing us with the ingredients and processes they use. Watch those programs if you can, they might still be available on the BBC site, or google Zoe Harcombe’s site, she has done very in depth synopsis of all three shows.  Read books. The new Atkins book is by a couple of authors, the main one being Dr. Stephen Phinney, they also wrote another book called the Art and Science of Low Carbohydrate Living. I have it on my Kindle. Its a detailed scientific look at this lifestyle and the book is intended for health care workers. Its very interesting. I don’t pretend to understand every single thing, but I got enough out of it to reinforce my decision!

So, are you with me???

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

