Living Lo Carb, First Doctor’s Visit!

Standard

Now I know you are supposed to check with your doctor first before beginning a diet, but he was on holiday…and I was afraid he would try to discourage me! So, 4 weeks ago I took my fate into my own hands and began the New Atkins for a New You way of eating. I’m now beginning week 5 and am quite happy with the results of the past month. Now my doctor is back from his holiday and I was overdue for my 6 month diabetes check up.

First of all, I want to express sympathy for our doctors. They must feel truly frustrated when people (like me) don’t want to be healthy…we don’t want to change, just take more tablets to enable us to not change our lifestyle. To dedicate your life to helping people be well and then find out they don’t want to do what it takes, must be devastating on some level. It’s not their fault! We are in charge of ourselves, no one else can do it for us!

I went through over 2 years of  a diabetes diagnosis in denial. I was taking 2 metformin, twice a day, the maximum dose is 5 and I was taking 4, I knew if I didn’t do something I’d be put on insulin eventually. Even that wasn’t enough!

What did it? The BBC programs The Men Who Made Us Fat. It pissed me off how the food industry preys on people and ruins their health. All the processed food, ready meals with names no one can pronounce! Soda sweetened with High Fructose Corn Syrup…or aspartame…just as bad really! Then I started to read, I highly recommend The Art and Science of Low Carbohydrate Living by Stephen Phinney and Jeff Volek. It was actually written for health professionals, so some might go over your head ( it did mine!) but there is plenty of understandable information there. This was recommended to me by a facebook friend who has been lo carb for 3 years.  Then I read Wheat Belly by Dr. Davis. Highly recommended reading for everyone really! But especially for diabetics or prediabetics.

So, the outcome of my doctors visit..about time I got round to that!

Good, everything was good! Blood pressure, cholesterol, blood sugar, the lot! And of course, the weight loss! I told him what I was doing and he had no objection, said it was a good way to lose weight! So, my fears were unfounded. He agreed to the halving of my metformin dose, one twice a day now, but wants me to continue other meds for the time being. I had already halved my metformin on my own after having a few sessions of low blood sugar symptoms. I did tell him and he was fine with it. I think I made his day, a patient who actually was doing something positive to improve their own lot!

So, do your doctor (and yourself) a favor and take charge of yourself today!

One response »

Leave a Reply

