Tis the Season!

Standard

carollersDeck those halls! I’ve started decking and will probably continue up till Christmas day…maybe even beyond!

I’m keeping an album of my progress on my Flicker page: http://www.flickr.com/photos/meerkate/

Not much there yet, but there will be! Its an ongoing project.

I am a pagan by nature, that means I celebrate everything! I grew up with Christmas and I love the lights, decorations, etc, so continue decorating in that vein. But I celebrate Yule, or Winter Solstice more than Christmas. A lot of what are considered Christian traditions actually stem from the pagan celebrations of the old days. (mistletoe anyone?)

hollykingThis is the Holly King and may be one of the inspirations for Santa.

The Winter Solstice is the basis of most light celebrations. All people welcomed the return of the sun and the growing season. I know I love the little bit of extra light we get every day after the solstice! It was a short hop, skip and jump from the return of the sun to the return of the Son!

Yuletide blessings to you all!

 

 

Leave a Reply

