I Knit, I Sew, I Colour!

Standard

One of my first current colouring examples!

One of my first current colouring examples!


Recently, I noticed that colouring for adults is the done thing. And I have all those loom bands to use up! That didn’t deter me from buying a book and some pencils and start my artistic endeavours! Actually, many years ago, I coloured 2 whole books of mandalas…I think they were both from Dover publishing as they were the only ones who did that sort of thing back then.
One of my recent mandalas

One of my recent mandalas


The first book I bought the other week was from Amazon, called Art Deco Designs. I found most of the books to be quite “busy” in the design department. I’m more the kids type colouring book person! But I do like Art Deco, so went for it. Then I was in the Works shop and saw that they had quite a selection and bought a Meditation Colouring book there…more mandalas. Then it was back to Amazon and the Flower Fairy ABC colouring book, it actually came from Book Depository through Amazon Marketplace.
For anyone who is interested in being artistic…without having to actually draw anything, I have a few tips.
From the Flower Fairy ABC

From the Flower Fairy ABC


Most important, buy long pencils. For some reason I’ve had a set of 50 Crayola coloured pencils for several years, never used. I got them out and did the first few pictures with them. They were short and hurt my hands. Probably good for kids with little hands, but not my arthritic ones. Also, buy the best ones you can afford. I am bewailing the loss of the Venus Paradise pencils of my youth. I found that Faber Castell had bought them out and was hoping they would have the colours that I remember….not! But they are a decent pencil. Not the cheapest and certainly not the most expensive. Different makes of pencils might have the same colour names on the pencils, but they will most likely be different shades, so it’s not wasteful to have a couple of sets from different makers. (that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!)
The bold, striking colours I wanted are only available in markers and they aren’t really that great for colouring. Use them to make signs. The colour you see on the pencil wood and the colour the lead looks like are not the colours you will actually get. If you go to a real art shop, you can get single pencils in the colours you want that didn’t come in whatever set you bought. My set of 24 came with a lovely silver metallic pencil, which made me crave, gold, copper, bronze etc. I got Derwent pencils in those colours singly. I also ordered a set of 12 supposedly metallic pencils from ebay very cheap. They don’t quite do it…example…
From the Meditation colouring book from The Works. Done with my cheap metallic pencils

From the Meditation colouring book from The Works. Done with my cheap metallic
pencils


I am thinking of getting the Crayola box of 64 crayons…if they still have it. Maybe they have even more colours now!
From the Art Deco Design book

From the Art Deco Design book

One response »

Leave a Reply

